Member Login

Spirit of ACL Award

The Spirit of ACL Award may be awarded annually by the Board of Directors. This award is bestowed on an individual within their first 5 years of ACL membership who has demonstrated exceptional passion for the mission of the Association through volunteer service on a standing team, noteworthy participation in a special project, or other outstanding service to ACL. The Executive Director will solicit nominations from Team Leaders; however, any ACL member may submit a nomination. Nominations should be submitted to the Executive Director no later than April 1 for presentation at the annual conference

Bethany Messersmith, the Library Director at Ivy Tech Community College, is the recipient of the 2018 Spirit of ACL Award. Bethany was given this award for her role as ACL Member Liaison for the CILA team. This is Bethany's first year in this role. Erin McCoy, CILA Team Coordinator, nominated Bethany stating "Bethany joined ACL in 2017 and volunteered to be a part of the CILA team in October 2017. She joined the CILA team in January 2018, and immediately worked with the CILA coordinator on two new initiatives: the CILA newsletter to ACL membership, and creating an informative and engaging poster session for the 2018 ACL Annual Conference. Her energy, enthusiasm and creativity have been essential in successfully launching these initiatives and her passion for connecting ACL members with each other is clear, even though she herself is a new member. Bethany also presenting at the 2018 conference and is an active contributor on the ACL Discussion List. In these ways, her involvement embodies the Spirit of this Association."





Recipients of Spirit of ACL Award

2015 - Elizabeth Arjona
2016 - Elizabeth Fairall & Mary Tatro
2017 - Bethany Messersmith