Member Login

Lifetime Service Award

Initiated in 2008, any member may nominate an individual for a Lifetime Service Award. A lifetime service award is given by the Board of Directors to retired members: who have been active ACL members at least ten of the previous fifteen years prior to the date of retirement, and who have made significant contributions to the Association, or whose contributions to the field of librarianship while a member has been a benefit to the Association.

Significant contributions may include, but are not limited to, regularly contributing to the Association's publications for five or more years, presenting or leading workshops or sessions at several of the Association's annual conferences, or serving in elected or appointed offices in the Association for five or more years.

This award consists of a plaque in recognition of making significant contributions to the Association of Christian Librarians or to Christian librarianship and all benefits of full membership without the payment of dues for life.

Submit the nomination form to Janelle Mazelin, Executive Director at 2020 nomination deadline is March 16, 2020.

2018 Recipient


Dale Solberg

Dale has been a member of ACL since 1992. He retired from his Library Director position at EPIC Bible College & Graduate School to pursue a chaplaincy position at several senior care facilities in Minnesota.

Dale has always supported the organization and delights in informing others about ACL and encouraging them to join. He has served the library profession for over 30 years in various capacities including leadership roles. He is a very gracious, sensitive, kind, thoughtful gentleman. 

Dale has made significant contributions to the advancement of ACL by serving on the ACL Board as a Director at Large, as well as serving a term as Vice President. He and his institution have also hosted the ACL Conference. As Dale has assumed various roles at academic institutions, he has always remained loyal and involved in ACL. Dale has never shied away from doing what has to be done.

Dale has contributed to Christian librarianship by leading libraries at several higher education institutions. He has been faithful to his responsibilities and has encouraged others in their library vocation and their association with ACL. He has fought hard for the increased recognition of the importance of the library at the higher education institutions he has served. 



2018 - Dale Solberg
2017 - Doug Butler, Lynne Funtik, Jane Hopkins, Paul Roberts
2016 - Susan Watkins
2013 - Jo Ann Rhodes
2012 - Woodvall Moore
2011 - Stanford Terhune
2011 - Don Smeeton
2009 - Ray Thrasher  

Life Membership

Previous to the Lifetime Service Award, the recipient of a Life Membership was approved by the Board of Directors and at the time of their retirement received a certificate in recognition of making significant contributions to the Association of Christian Librarians or to Christian librarianship.

Life Membership recipients: Betty Anderson, Patricia Griffin, Helen Lemmon, Lois Luesing, Roger Phillips, Steven Preston, Dorsey Reynolds, and Alice Willis.