Member Login

Emily Russel Award

The Emily Russel award was established to recognize outstanding contributions to Christian librarianship. Follow this link to read about the history of the Emily Russel award and the qualifications for nomination. The 2020 nomination deadline is March 16, 2020.

Submit the nomination form to Janelle Mazelin, Executive Director at or (937)766-5499 (fax).

2017 Recipient: Sharon Bull


Sharon Bull became a member of the Association of Christian Librarians and attended her first annual conference in 1977. In 1987, Sharon was elected to serve as Secretary on the ACL Board of Directors, serving until 1995. Sharon has continued to be heavily involved in the leadership of ACL, serving as Membership Handbook Coordinator and Editor (1997-2000), Chair of Conference Planning Team for 2000 (1998-2000), Director-at-large for Conference Services (2001-2003), and Board Secretary again (2003-2008). In June of 2008, Sharon received the ACL Volunteer of the Year Award. Currently, and for the past decade, she is serving the Association as Archivist, organizing and striving to preserve the Association’s rich and long history for the next generation.

It is her ongoing service to Nazarene libraries around the world, her leadership in the innovative accomplishments of designing and building the Wesleyan Holiness Digital Library and the Leah Peterson Learning Commons/Riley Library at Northwest Nazarene University, and her many years of leadership in the Association of Christian Librarians that set her apart for this honor. 

Sharon began her international theological library volunteer work in Haiti in 1987. She spent a summer at Swaziland Nazarene Theological College, both cataloging and upgrading systems. Within ACL, she assisted the Commission on International Library Assistance (CILA) as a volunteer proofreader (1988-1994) of various drafts of the original Librarian’s Manual. As a part of her 2006 sabbatical study, Sharon visited several Nazarene institutions in Africa to assess the libraries and to conduct a workshop for the librarians. She saw the challenges the librarians faced without a library system. In January 2016, Sharon led a team of six international librarians to Southern Africa Nazarene University (SANU), Manzini, Swaziland. After returning home, she lead twenty volunteer librarians across USA/Canada and Great Britain in cataloging more than 6,000 books from cards copied from the School of Theology at SANU. At the same time, she coordinated the deployment of OPALS to four additional schools.

The Association celebrates, with God-­honoring gratitude, Dr. Sharon Bull’s outstanding service to ACL and Christian librarianship around the world.

Recipients of the Emily Russel Award are:

1974 Susan Schultz 1993 Lois Luesing
1975 Miriam Waggoner 1997 Eve Kiewitt
1976 Shirley Wood 1997 Lois Lehman
1978 Ora Ann Sprague 1999 Stephen P. Brown
1979 Dorothy Spidell 2000 Barbara K. Nelson
1981 Ruth Butler 2001 Ron Jordahl
1984 Alberta Chaffe 2009 Woodvall Moore
1986 Ivy Olson 2015 Nancy J. Olson
1988  Nancy Dick 2017 Sharon Bull